Family Festivities

I love Christmas. So much so that I can’t bring myself to work over the festive period and have to take at least two weeks off.

This Christmas was the first year I hadn’t spent the entire break at home with the family. Does this count towards becoming a grown up?

I’m going to go with yes, but it has also made me appreciate time spent with the fam a little more.

James and I spent the first couple of days of our two week break with his parents on their farm in Pembrokeshire. A lovely ease into our break that set the tone for pretty much the rest of our time off. Lazy mornings, long walks on the beach and fish ‘n’ chips for dinner.

DSC_0952 DSC_0964

After a busy period at work, it was just what the doctor ordered and we really enjoyed the respite.

We had a couple of days back in Bristol and then made our way to Cheltenham for 5 days of Christmas, which also included a birthday.

It was lovely to spend time with the whole family, play plenty of games – we played a multitude of games most evenings, watched countless films and gorged on a lot of tasty, indulgent food. I also witnessed James eat his weight in cheese over the 5 days.

DSC_0978 P1020426 P1020435 P1020437 DSC_0991 DSC_1045

I received some wonderful gifts including a meal for my sister and I at Michel Roux’s restaurant, La Gavroche. I am very grateful for all my presents and got just as much enjoyment out of giving our gifts out.

DSC_1046 DSC_1026 DSC_1066

Dads birthday is 3 days after Christmas so we celebrated with a pub lunch out in Stow-on-the-Wold.

DSC_1108 DSC_1084DSC_1097

Later that evening we played a round of Articulate – girls vs boys. The boys won but only by a whisker and my mum, sister and I believed there was some cheating going on.

P1020423

As it was Dads birthday, we let it slide and all piled on the sofa for a family photo.

DSC_1112 DSC_1118

A lovely Christmas spent with family and feeling fully adjusted to not really doing a lot. Better not get too used to that or going back to work will be a real struggle.

I hope you’ve all had a lovely Christmas and are looking forward to celebrating the new year – whether that be on the sofa or out partying.

Leave a Reply

