The White Spoon, Cheltenham

New restaurants are popping up all over Cheltenham, it’s almost impossible to keep up.

One of the latest additions is The White Spoon, owned by Christopher White and wife Purdey Spooner.

Christopher was a chef at The Fat Duck and trained under Heston Blumenthal, so he obviously knows a thing or two about how to serve up some cracking food.

The White Spoon is located in the town centre, just round the corner from Boston Tea Party.

My sister and I went at lunchtime to make the most of the set menu. With two courses for £12 and three courses for £15.

DSC_0592 DSC_0554 DSC_0555

A lovely, yet particularly cold day, my sister and I were keen to get stuck into the menu and order up some food that had already received some great feedback.

DSC_0569

For starters I had the chicken liver parfait and Nat went for the onion soup.

DSC_0571 DSC_0573

The parfait was nice, however I thought the balance was a little off and the pear overpowered the dish. The soup on the other hand was incredible, the subtle sweetness of the roasted onions and the creaminess of the cheese was a match made in heaven.

For mains I ordered the chicken and Nat had the gnocchi.

DSC_0582 DSC_0584

The chicken was spot-on, I don’t think I’ve had chicken so moist. They nailed it. I only had a little taste of the gnocchi as Nat managed to polish that off, which is probably a good sign. I’ve also only had gnocchi once before and didn’t enjoy it; yet The White Spoon have managed to change my mind. A great texture and not overly heavy.

We didn’t really have room for pud but for review purposes we found an empty spot.

We got both the desserts on the menu and shared them. One was a treacle tart and the other a pumpkin creme brulee.

DSC_0587 DSC_0591

We were a little disappointed the treacle tart was cold and I think I would have liked to have tasted the treacle flavour more over the lemon that had been included.

The creme brulee was creamy, rich and the shortbread added some extra crunch. Totally over-indulgent pud, that almost saw us waddling out the door – so worth it.

Overall a great spot and welcome addition to Cheltenham’s food and drink scene. I’m looking forward to returning and exploring the full menu.

Leave a Reply

