Homemade Christmas wreath

Soooo last week James and I may have put our Christmas tree up. We had a mixed reaction when I shared this information to the masses on social media, some have judged, others have praised.

Perhaps premature however I am determined to get in the festive spirit early this year. I say this most years and fail miserably, but it’s my first Christmas with James, a child at heart just like me so it’s bound to be a lot of fun.

I also love food that comes in pastry parcels and they are always flowing at Christmas.

Right, so the tree is up – check. Next we need a wreath on the door.

James’ mum kindly bought me a bag of assorted dried fruits to use as Christmas decorations. After looking to Pinterest for some inspiration I decided to use them to decorate my own homemade wreath.

Other supplies came from an independant craft shop in Bristol, Wilkos and Hobbycraft.

DSC_0681

So to start off you want to wrap the band with your leaves.

DSC_0682

Next up I added some dainty white pearls to give the illusion of specks of snowflakes.

DSC_0688 DSC_0685

Then a drop of colour in the shape of berries. All of the decorations come with wire stems so are easy to wrap around the ring of the wreath or individual branches.

DSC_0689 DSC_0690

Some pine cones. I used four.

DSC_0692 DSC_0693

For the fruit, I needed to attach my own wire which easily pierced through each piece and dotted them around the wreath.

Finishing things off with the addition of a red bow.

DSC_0697 DSC_0698 DSC_0703

I have opted for the more traditional look but that’s the great thing about creating your own – you can use an array of accessories or colours to make something completely original.

Enjoy getting crafty!

Leave a Reply

