Christmas is coming

The words some people hate to hear.

Not around here I’m afriad. Admittedly it seems to come around quicker every year but I tend to regress about 20 years (wow, that makes me feel old) and get all excited about the impending season considerably early.

Yes, it can be expensive but what’s not to love about giving and receiving presents, eating copious amounts of food (and it being acceptable), and spending time with your nearest and dearest.

Festivities for me began on the 1st November when we went to watch Oxford Street’s big Christmas Light Switch on. A slight anti-climax when the lights didn’t all go on simultaniously but instead went on in blocks. Still pretty though.

DSC_0212 DSC_0223 DSC_0232

The John Lewis ad has just been released; another sign it’s now a respectable time to start getting into the festive spirit.

James and I also bought our Christmas tree. I wouldn’t say I was being stubborn, however any tree that was shorter than me was not substantial in my eyes. Just to prove I’ve got myself a keeper, James was more than happy to put the tree up this weekend! No humbugs round here. (FYI we’ve rescheduled to the end of November so we’re not sick of the sight of it by December).

We popped into HomeSense to see what goodies they had and they did not disappoint.

DSC_0249 DSC_0250 DSC_0258

The store is full of themed decorations, little trinkets, gift ideas, even lifesize penguins, unicorns (that’s the size I imagine them to be) and reindeers. It’s ah-mazing.

DSC_0253

There is a truly unique selection to get your home looking like a winter wonderland or, if you want to be a little more subtle about it, you will find pieces that will blend into any home.

DSC_0236 DSC_0242 DSC_0245 DSC_0256 DSC_0262

It won’t be long before you’ll be seeing Christmas everywhere, so you may as well fully embrace the season!

DSC_0270

Leave a Reply

