Salt and Malt, plus a pub with kittens!

_DSC0913

When I was younger, mum and dad would treat my brother, sister and I to fish and chips from the local chippy every Friday evening. It turned into a ritual and it wasn’t long before the owners knew our names.

As we got older that ritual eventually came to an end but that didn’t mean my love for fish and chips did. Not possible my friend.

In fact, every evening I’d get off the train from work I would almost be salivating at the smell of that deep-fried goodness that would make it’s way across the road.

When I was informed about a relatively new establishment, that was offering great fish and chips not far from Bristol, I had to check it out.

We made the most of the trip out by spending the morning in Wells, meandering in and out of shops and taking a visit to the Wells Cathedral.

_DSC0906

Wells is also where they filmed the film Hot Fuzz. Luckily nothing fell from the top of the cathedral and impaled anyone this time. Phew!

Sightseeing done, it was time for lunch. Salt and Malt is owned by local chef celebrity Josh Eggleton, who also owns the Pony and Trap and has appeared on The Great British Menu.

_DSC0917 _DSC0918 _DSC0908 _DSC0907

Located on the banks of the Chew Valley Lake, you can enjoy your fish and chips with a spendid view. We opted for the take away option and did just that.

_DSC0912 _DSC0914 _DSC0922

Great portion sizes, gluten-free menus and a tea room next door – there is something for everyone at Salt and Malt. I am now even more keen to check out the Pony and Trap.

Later that evening, as the sun was still shining we decided to pop to the pub for a drink.

This was not just any pub though. The Bag of Nails in Hotwells has just had a litter of kittens that roam the pub and make a fuss of the customers. Life without my cat, Bonnie feels a lot emptier so this helps fill that gap a little.

_DSC0928

I get my crazy cat lady fix as well as drinking some lovely elderflower cider: perfect way to spend an evening.

IMG_0369

Leave a Reply

