The Rummer’s Roast, Bristol

_DSC0084

Big statement coming up; I’m pretty sure I experienced the best roast I’ve ever had in Bristol the other weekend (apart from yours Mum, obviously).

I’ve gained quite a soft spot for The Rummer in recent months. In the winter they have a large open fire burning surrounded by grand leather sofas, tucking you in making it quite a prime spot on those colder evenings. Getting there early, straight after work you can often bag the best seats in the house.

_DSC0085

All year round you can take advantage of their vast drinks menu, including an array of great cocktails. However if that’s not enough to convince you, you need to get down there on a Sunday and give their roasts a try. You will not be disappointed.

_DSC0087

They offer a three course meal for £22 however having been informed that the main may be enough, I skipped the starter and went straight for the main event. My dining partner went for the beef whilst I opted for the lamb. James hadn’t stopped harping on about the veg sides since suggesting a trip to The Rummer so we added a couple of those – against the staff’s recommendation that we probably wouldn’t get through all the generous portions.

Naturally we ordered our staple cocktails to wash it all down which soon enough had to be pushed aside to welcome the array of food.

_DSC0089 _DSC0090 _DSC0097

The mains come with crunchy, slightly pickled veg, the most crispy roast potatoes and large Yorkshire puddings.

_DSC0094

The meats were beautiful cooked, the lamb almost melted in my mouth but I have to agree the extra sides of veg were the stars of the show. We had gone for toffee carrots, perfectly sweet and so moreish; conveniently placed on my side of the table. I could have easily eaten a bowl of those to myself and not feel guilty about it.

_DSC0088

We also had the truffle cauliflower cheese which I’d probably feel a little more guilty about if I ate the entire lot but the fact it tasted so cheesy with just the right amount of truffle meant I’d probably get over it pretty quickly.

_DSC0091 _DSC0099

We almost polished off the lot, bumping into the head chef and passing on our compliments as we rubbed our bellies.

You may be skeptical about the veg stealing the show, I know I was, but it’s definitely worth a visit to see for yourself!

2 thoughts on “The Rummer’s Roast, Bristol

    1. It’s really great, you must give it a go. Along with the cocktails! Let me know if your bestie can recommend any other places in Brizzle x

Leave a Reply

