Father’s Day at The Slaughter’s Inn

After a trip to Cheltenham Food and Drink Festival, we made our way to Lower Slaughter to celebrate Father’s Day at The Slaughter’s Inn.

It’s always an aim of mine when looking for somewhere to eat for a special occasion to find a place we haven’t been before. This was especially hard as Dad prefers the country pubs. We’ve not only been to a lot of them but I struggle to find a happy medium between good food and good prices. After a bit of googling I came across The Slaughter’s Inn.

_DSC0511

Set in the quaint village of Lower Slaughter, surrounded by Cotswold stone and a small stream flowing through – it was right up Dad’s street.

_DSC0512

_DSC0513

We crossed the stream and set about finding our table. That morning I had driven back from a Hen Do in Norfolk so presented Dad with his gift (wrapped in beautiful pink wrapping paper I might add) whilst we perused the menu.

_DSC0516

_DSC0520

_DSC0518

The restaurant inside was modern yet countrified. They had some lovely features, mum and I loved the bookcase wallpaper. Annoyingly I didn’t take any photographs as I was too interested in the food – as usual.

_DSC0521

DSC04230

On a Sunday they offer a set menu, where you can have either one, two or three courses. With three courses at only £23.95. For starters most of us had the salmon and Nat had the soup.

_DSC0522

_DSC0523

For mains we had a couple of roasts round the table, Nat had fish and I had a try of Gnocchi. I can’t compare to any others but it was delish.

_DSC0525

_DSC0526

_DSC0528

Finally the piece de resistance, and maybe the reason I picked The Slaughter’s Inn… the puddings. I’m not a huge fan of desserts but these just ticked all the boxes. Sticky toffee pudding won most of the table over but I indulged in the Eton Mess.

_DSC0531

_DSC0532

After feeling well and truly stuffed, we headed outside to the gardens for some tea and coffee to wash it all down.

_DSC0514

_DSC0533

_DSC0535

_DSC0536

DSC04237

DSC04238

I was on my green tea which I like to think sped up my metabolism enough to burn off at least half the Eton mess…

_DSC0540

You can find the The Slaughter’s Inn website here.

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day at The Slaughter’s Inn

Leave a Reply

