My top 5 places to eat in Cheltenham

Only my opinion, but here is a list of my top 5 non-chain, mid-ranged priced, places to eat in Cheltenham.

1. The Daffodil

18-20 Suffolk Parade, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire GL50 2AE

dsc_0371_copy

What used to be an old cinema in the 1920s, The Daffodil has become one of Cheltenhams most well-known restaurants. Not just from appearing in BBC’s Sherlock series but for holding some beautiful examples of original Art Deco, including a pair of ‘kissing seats’ and the projectionist machinery. I celebrated my 21st Birthday here and Alan and I had an anniversary meal here, having met at the local cinema. The food is fresh, beautifully presented and most importantly, tastes amazing. I would recommend the Fillet Steak au Poivre, priced at £26. Starters range between £5 and £12 and mains £14 and £26. Perfect for a celebratory meal out.

Website is here.

2. Giannis

1 Royal Well Pl, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire GL50 3DN

dsc_0327_copy

I’ve been to Gianni’s plenty of times. You can always rely on them for great authentic Italian food and a buzzing atmosphere. The waiters are full of life and reel off the specials with much enthusiasm. The prices are very reasonable but don’t compromise on the quality of food or the generous portions. Whenever I go, I always want several things off the menu but by far my favourite is their lasagne. Mouthwateringly cheesey without skimping on the mince. A must-try. Prices range from £7 to £19 for main meals. I’d definitely recommend booking.

Website here.

3. Thai brasserie

9 Montpellier Terrace, Cheltenham GL50 1US

P1000918

If you love Thai food as much as me, this is definitely a must. Alan and I frequent this restaurant as much as deemed normal. Located just at the top of Montpellier, the perfect location to enjoy a few drinks before you fill your bellies. The restaurant is pristine inside with Taiwanese features dotted around. The staff are especially lovely and very attentive. The food is always incredibly fresh and tastes devine. I tend to eat my weight in food when we visit but without that guilty feeling you get with say, Indian food. I love the mixed starters they offer and you can’t beat their Green Thai Curry with coconut rice. There are several set menus on offer ranging from £20 to £28 per person. Great prices for the amount of food that arrives at your table.

Website here.

4. Flynns

The Courtyard, 16-17 Montpellier St, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire GL50 1SR

P1000923

Another restaurant in the Montpellier area, though a little more hidden away, I have yet to hear anyone disappointed in the food at Flynns. I have enjoyed a birthday meal here, sampling the a la carte menu and taken mum out for Mother’s Day, where they offered a great set menu deal, both offering the same high quality dishes. From the starters to the dessert, the food is de-licious, I would highly recommend their Banoffee pie. No ones is as good as my sisters but this comes a close second. The prices are reasonable, ranging from £5 to £8 for starters and £11 to £20 for mains. It definitely has the whole package of great food, great service and a buzzing atmosphere.

Website here.

5. The Tavern

5 Royal Well Pl, Cheltenham GL50 3DN

P1000925

I blogged about a recent trip to The Tavern not that long ago and I’m keen to go back. Bang in the centre of town, it’s perfect for meeting up for drinks and/or food. The atmosphere is always buzzing, I have yet to go in there when it hasn’t been busy. They have entertainment in the downstairs part of the pub at the weekends, but if you’re not into that there is seating upstairs with a view of the open kitchen. The decor is trendy and something a little different for Cheltenham. The menu has all sorts on it and when you sample it, you know it’s been cooked by someone who really cares about food and knows what they’re doing.  The prices vary but are around the £10 mark for mains. I’d recommend giving the chilli dog a try.

Website here.

There are many other great places to grab a bite in Cheltenham, some I’ve yet to try myself. Let me know if there are any others you would have in your top 5.

4 thoughts on “My top 5 places to eat in Cheltenham

Leave a Reply

