The Tavern, Cheltenham

I have been to The Tavern for drinks before but have been meaning to try it for food for ages so when two of my best friends and I were arranging a meet up I suggested it and received no objections.

We met mid last week for a much needed catch up on life, work, babies and weddings. It’s got the perfect atmosphere for a chilled out meet for drinks or a no fuss meal. It was surprisingly busy for a week night so we were seated upstairs.

DSC_0133

One of my best friends Emma, who will be my maid of honour (along with my sister), is expecting her first child in September and it was the first time I’d seen her with baby-bump.

DSC_0136

I’m so excited for her! I text Emma when Alan and I had found our wedding venue and she text back to say she was pregnant, I’m not sure which news I was more excited about!

Anyway back to the Tavern. With our table being upstairs we had a full view of the kitchen, which was surprisingly calm. There are lots of elements that give the place a rustic feel with the jar like glasses, stuffed animals on shelves and the exposed brick walls. The huge British flag adds an element of familiarity and makes you feel at home.

DSC_0134 DSC_0135 DSC_0137 DSC_0138

The menu is a good size and offers plenty of options, I struggled to pick just one thing. When I finally picked the burger I was told they were sold out, which was a little annoying but at least gave me the opportunity to have something a little different. I chose the chilli dog, Emma had the salmon and Erin was watching her bank balance so went for the starter of chickpea chips as a main.

Whilst we waited for food we continued to talk pregnancy, I was told I’d be having strippers for my Hen do and Erin filled us in on her drunken shenanigans, which are always entertaining. I feel I can live my single life precariously through her stories.

DSC_0140

Soon enough our food arrived, both Erin and I could dive straight in however Emma’s salmon had to be returned due to it being undercooked. Apparently a no-no for pregnant ladies. The waitress took it away without a fuss and returned it not long after.

DSC_0141 DSC_0143 DSC_0144

I can’t speak for Emma or Erin’s meals but my chilli dog was packed full of flavour with the perfect amount of spice. My only complaint is at £10 there really should be a side of fries to accompany it. But hey, my waistline isn’t complaining!

Emma and Erin shared a slice of cheesecake for pudding. They enjoyed it so much by the time I’d whipped out my camera, it had already gone.

You can find The Tavern website here for more information. It’s so nice for Cheltenham to be getting more independent food places and this one is definitely worth a visit.

Leave a Reply

