Easter Weekend featuring Banksy, Horses and GridIron Cheltenham

This post is slightly behind schedule due to my Mac not behaving and refusing to recognise my camera. Talk about first world problems, eh. All is well now having used the classic turn off and turn back on again technique.

I love Easter, it’s almost as good as Christmas. You get free days off from work and you don’t necessarily have to do anything, except eat chocolate. It is now a week later and I am onto my 5th easter egg. A little disgusted in myself but at the same time a little proud.

Good Friday helped make room for the chocolate when myself, Alan and my sister went for an 8 mile walk just outside of Cheltenham. Before we got to our starting point we took a detour and went to see Cheltenham’s newest attraction.

DSC_0086

This average telephone box has never seen so much action, since a new piece by the graffiti artist Banksy was created around it.

DSC_0088 DSC_0090

Inspired by the local Government Communications Head Quarters, aka GCHQ and how we are all being monitored, it really is an amazing bit of work. If you want to see it in the flesh, it’s along Hewlett Road on the roundabout.

After that we headed to Sherborne to begin our walk out in the countryside. My map reading was slightly off to begin with as we were unsure what a ‘copse’ was but after a google search we were on our way to a small group of trees (aka a copse).

DSC_0093 DSC_0094 DSC_0099 DSC_0119

Along the way my sister and I made friends with the locals.

DSC_0102

Who were a little keen on the contents of my bag.

DSC_0105

So we hopped on over to the over side of the fence.

DSC_0110 DSC_0111

Where they helped give directions to the next leg of the walk.

DSC_0112

We made it back to the car with only a few bad turns, feeling tired yet refreshed.

Later that evening, Alan and I took a trip out to a new restaurant in Cheltenham called GridIron. It opened up late last year and always appears to look quite busy. The last occupants were Office Angels so I feel the outside still looks a little office-y and could do with a bit of updating.

DSC_0120

The inside however is completely different to how it used to be. I like the low lighting effect and the worn tables, a look a lot of places seem to go for these days.

DSC_0121 DSC_0122 DSC_0132

There is a good sized menu full of all the foods you’d expect from a restaurant named GridIron. Being a fan of burgers, I was keen to give these a taste test.

DSC_0123 DSC_0125

Once our order had been taken we were given a complimentary cup of salt and pepper popcorn.

DSC_0126

For starters we shared calamari and chorizo risotto balls.

DSC_0129 DSC_0130

Both were really good and you get a generous portion of calamari.

For mains we both opted for a burger. I had the Bronx burger that came with mushrooms, crunchy onions and cheese. Alan went for the harlem burger that came with jalapeños, bacon and cheese. Both came with fries and we added an extra side of onion rings.

DSC_0131

Unfortunately the burger let me down. The extra fillings were nice, but the meat itself was over cooked, having asked for medium and it crumbled as I ate it. The bun was also a little soggy. The fries were nice as were the onion rings, however we were so full we barely touched them. Very unlike us!

I would recommend the GridIron to families. I think if Alan and I returned, we would go in the daytime. I would like to give them a second chance to change my mind about their burgers. You can find their website here.

The rest of the weekend involved lunch with my friend Emma who just returned from an amazing trip to the USA, a lazy day playing The Sims 3 (that’s normal for a 25 year old, yeah?) and going to watch my other man, Johnny Depp play a crazy scientist turned robot in Transcendence. The film wasn’t anything amazing, but man does he look good.

Hope you all had a lovely Easter break and please say you’ve eaten as many easter eggs as me…

2 thoughts on “Easter Weekend featuring Banksy, Horses and GridIron Cheltenham

  1. Completely agree that Gridiron still looks like an office, it puts me off! However, the starters look delicious! Nicola noodlingalong.blogspot.co.uk Xx

    1. Yeah the entrance isn’t very inviting at all! The starters were a lot nicer than the mains, but may give it another go later in the year, see if they’ve improved :) xx

Leave a Reply

