I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells

This weekend started extra early on Friday as work had a ‘social event’ on so we all finished at 3pm. I unfortunately couldn’t make it, but I wasn’t too disappointed as Alan and I were off to Birmingham to see Miranda Hart’s stand up show. I love the woman, I feel I can sometimes relate to her awkward, immature and tall self. I love her show (aptly named) Miranda and really enjoyed her book.

10173697_10153981790245128_1762786138_n

Her ‘What I Call Live Show’ did not disappoint either. Alan and I were laughing throughout, and could relate to the funny situations she gets herself into.

On Saturday, my sister and I went to my new favourite joint, Boston Tea Party for some lunch and to talk Weddings. My friend Erin has managed to find some amazing dresses and accessories for the Bridesmaids where I have failed to find anything! So we found a seat (it’s still crazy busy in that place), ordered some food and geeked out on our iPads.

DSC_0048 DSC_0049 DSC_0052

For drinks I went for a refreshing Raspberry and Mango smoothie which went down a treat and Nat had a Latte. For food we went for a selection of sides including Tortilla chips, Courgette fritters and a side salad. It was surprisingly filling!

DSC_0054 DSC_0055 DSC_0056 DSC_0057 DSC_0059

We didn’t manage to come to any final decisions on Bridesmaid dresses but did plenty of cooing and awwing over pretty items. Not so productive but a lovely lunch spent with the sis.

DSC_0053

We eventually had to move our bums about 10 minutes up the road to meet Dad having booked tickets to one of the talks at the Cheltenham Design Festival. It has been running for three years now and being on the doorstep, I thought it was about time I took advantage.

DSC_0072

DSC_0068

DSC_0070 DSC_0071

The talk was called ‘B for Bauhaus’ by the Director of the Design Museum in London. He took each letter of the alphabet and related it to something he believed to have had an impact on Design through the ages.

DSC_0062 DSC_0064 DSC_0065 DSC_0067

In the evening, Nat and I carried on keeping busy and rustled up some delights in the kitchen. To accompany dinner, I recreated a recipe I recently read on The Londoner – her mum’s low carb grain free bread. It’s incredibly simple to make and pretty good for you too.

DSC_0073 DSC_0074 DSC_0085

You can find the recipe here.

I also did some homemade guacamole, which is also easy and just involves chucking ingredients into a bowl and mixing together. I really hate coriander so replaced that with basil, which seemed to be a winner with the fam.

DSC_0075 DSC_0083

Nat made the slightly naughty dessert of Creme egg brownies, which I have yet to try but have been informed by Alan are delicious. Perfect balance of healthy food and a little treat…

photo (1)

Sunday involved an appointment at the church we’re getting married in, approving of wedding suits Alan can wear, a delicious meal made by mumma and a trip to the gym. With under a year to go to our big day we are finally using our gym membership!

Hope you all had a good weekend x

Leave a Reply

