Simpsons Fish ‘n’ Chips

I have drove past Simpsons fish and chip shop hundreds of times and read the sign ‘Award winning’, telling myself I must try them one day. Well that day finally arrived as we took a visit last weekend.

I checked out their website before we went, cos you know, that’s what I do – and I also found out they are in fact ‘the best chippy in England’. That’s a pretty big statement and a huge accomplishment. Why is it we never visit the stuff on our doorstep?

The establishment itself is also a restaurant but I feel fish ‘n’ chips tastes so much better on your lap, watching the tv. Once we got home we put ‘The Big Wedding’ on (would not recommend) and tucked in. The chips were perfectly cooked, not too greasy, fluffy on the inside with slightly crispy corners. They reminded me of seaside chips. The fish I feel was the pièce de résistance. A generous thick piece of fish, cooked to perfection – the batter nice and crispy but not heavily coated. I can see why they’ve won a few awards.

DSC_0777 DSC_0778 DSC_0779 DSC_0780 DSC_0781

People have apparently travelled far and wide to sample Simpson Fish ‘n’ Chips so if you’re local or not, I’d definitely recommend a visit.

Check out their website, it’s also fully responsive.

Leave a Reply

