My 24th Birthday

Even though I have aged a year, I’m quite happy to now be a 24 year old – I feel 23 is such an ugly number that I am glad to see the back of it. I began celebrations on the eve of my Birthday by having drinks with friends in the cocktail bar of Monty’s Brasserie – it’s the perfect place if you are after a relaxed evening out. As the drinks flowed we began to get a bit snap happy and documented the night with our photography skills…

IMG_0093 IMG_0106 IMG_0097 IMG_0096 IMG_0094

After waking up with a minor headache, I was presented with a chair full of presents.

IMG_0119

Mum and Dad got me an iPhone, benefit make up and Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish cream, Alan got me a gorgeous Michael Kors Rose Gold watch – which I’ve been eyeing up for ages, some more Benefit Make Up and proving he does listen to me, the original Ginger Spice Barbie doll. It was only at Christmas I’d mentioned being very upset when all my friends at primary school got the proper Spice Girls dolls and I had to recreate my own out of the Barbies I already had. Traumatic story, I know.

I also received the Miranda Box set, Vino and the Glittery J2O’s from Alan’s Mum and a bag of Jelly Flops from Alan’s nieces and nephews across the pond. I received some money, Topshop and Amazon kindle giftcards, a picture of me and Johnny Depp – also part of Alan’s Birthday card to me and a lovely candle that turns to massage oil once melted – ingenious! Safe to say I was very spoilt.

775851_10152450976005128_241421177_o

IMG_0153

With my Birthday being on the Saturday, Mum and Dad were free to spend the day with – and treat me to a lunch. We went out to Stow-on-the-Wold, which was still full of snow and visited one of the tea rooms there. We decided on Huffkins – which has recently turned up in Cheltenham, knowing we could rely on them for a cream tea.

775677_10152450979605128_392806057_o

IMG_0129

IMG_0124 DSC02612 IMG_0123

We all shared two three tiered cake stands filled with various flavoured sandwiches and scones accompanied with clotted cream and jam. The food was too lovely and we all came away feeling a couple of stone heavier – which I feel is always a good sign.

IMG_0122 IMG_0126

Once we got home and started to feel hungry again, Alan told me to get my glad rags on as he was taking me out for dinner. He had decided on Flynns, which I had mentioned really wanting to try.

_MG_3713

It definitely lived up to expectations – the food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Alan had Wild Mushroom and Spinach Pancakes, I had Calamari, we both had the Sirloin Steak for main and shared the Banoffee Pie for Dessert. Highly recommended!

bdayedit3

bdayedit

bdayedit4

bdayedit2

Also during the meal, Alan presented me with an envelope that contained an invite to the Harry Potter Studios in Watford! It was a complete surprise and made the night. I will be blogging about our trip soon. When we returned home, we relaxed with a cup of tea and Birthday face-cake.

DSC02615

DSC02617

The perfect Birthday, with some amazing surprises along the way.

photo5

Leave a Reply

