Daffodils and Roses

Yesterday Alan and I celebrated our one year Anniversary as a couple. I cringe slightly when I refer to it as an anniversary but as neither of us have made it this far in a relationship before we couldn’t help but be a little excited.

When I returned from work, I was presented with a box of chocolates, some red roses and my favourite Pink Fizz from Marks and Spencer – which was a lovely surprise. We exchanged cards and then Alan whipped out a Pandora bag! Always exciting when one of these show up. I opened up the little white box and it revealed a little cupcake charm. It is mainly silver, but has a little golden drop at the top – it’s very cute. We had both agreed not to do gifts, as we weren’t sure if you were supposed to. Nevertheless, I got Alan a gift too. I bought him some Armani Code aftershave, after he had made a comment last week about wanted some more smelleys.

As Alan and I met whilst working at the Cinema, we decided to go to one of Cheltenham’s oldest cinemas, The Daffodil, which now holds a high reputation as a Restaurant. The building still holds a lot of the original decor, including the flooring in the lobby, the two ticket boxes either side of the entrance and large projectors in the dining hall.

There was a great, buzzy atmosphere as we had come on one of the Jazz nights. I was worried it would be really quiet being a Monday but I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The food was amazing. Alan had scallops for a starter and I had soup.

For mains we both couldn’t resist the steak, along with hand cut chips and a green pepper sauce. The steak was cooked to perfection and the chips were waaaay too moorish! We even got a free bowl of chips, Alan decided it was because the waitress fancied him…

I wanted to try the milk sorbet but my stomach was telling me no, so we decided to leave the desserts. I would highly recommend visiting The Daffodil, it is quite a unique restaurant for Cheltenham albeit a bit pricey but the standard and size of the meal reflect this.

When we got home, we cosied up in our new living quarters and it wasn’t long before we both fell asleep on the sofa.

2 thoughts on “Daffodils and Roses

Leave a Reply

