A Weekend Of Eating

That’s probably the best way of describing last weekend.

We got up early Saturday morning as we had planned a day trip to Weston-Super-Mare, along with Alan’s mum and her partner. We got there early and treated ourselves to a cuppa in the Hotel Alan and his family stayed in when he was younger.

We took a stroll around the town and into your traditional sweet shops. When we came round to the pier, we grabbed ourselves some chips and sat on the seafront.

The weather was warm but overcast and the sun didn’t actually shine until we were heading home. Typical. After feasting on chips and battered sausage, we took a stroll along the pier and attempted to make our millions on the arcade machines. I’m not a big gambler so I stuck to the 2p machines.

We had a walk along the seafront before heading home. There isn’t an awful lot to do in Weston but it makes for a nice day out, especially if you are after traditional fish ‘n’ chips by the sea.

Later that evening, I met up with my friend Emma. Myself and Emma met in a horrible place, full of all sorts of characters, purely because we needed the money. Yep, you got it, we were cashiers at our local Tesco. In all honesty, it wasn’t that bad.

Anywho, we went for a bite to eat at Pizza Express, by this time the sun was piercing the sky so we opted to sit outside. Which also proved great for some people watching, we saw several Hen Partys, a Stag Do and an old couple riding in an elegant horse and carriage…very random. As I had already had a hefty lunch, I decided to be healthy and have one of their salads. My favourite is the Roasted Vegetables and Goats cheese salad, Emma went for another fav which was the Leggera Pandana Pizza, which is loaded with Goats cheese, Caramelised onions and Spinach. Definitely a winner in my books.

It didn’t take much twisting but we also treated ourselves to a dessert. I went for one of my favourites, Banoffee Pie and Emma had a Chocolate Glory. I told her to remind me to take a picture before I shovelled it down my neck, however we got too engrossed in them and I didn’t remember until I took the last bite.

It was a lovely way to end the day, even though I left Emma feeling very jealous as she was off to see Michael McIntyre next week, then jetting on Holiday to Spain before moving to London to do her Masters Degree. No fair.

Sunday we were invited along to our friend’s baby’s Christening. Alan was playing an important role as Godfather so it made it all the more special.

Later in the evening, we went over to Mum and Dad’s to enjoy more food. Mum had prepared some roasted vegetables, salad, peppercorn sauce and the steaks. Dad’s job was to cook the steaks. Again, I got overly excited about the food so forgot to take a picture. I feel the empty plate proves it was a success though.

After dinner, mum brought out her homemade Sloe Gin. Last year, mum and I went out to pick the Sloe Berries and they had been infusing in the Gin ever since. The process is slow (strangely enough) but worth it. The Gin is quite bitter, with a strong alcohol content without the alcohol taste. I’m not a big drinker, but I enjoyed the taste. Between us we managed to get through a bottle.

Alan laughing at my Dad’s appalling memory…

My stomach was lined with mountains of food so luckily I didn’t feel the effects, otherwise today would be quite unpleasant.

Hope you all had a good weekend!


Leave a Reply

