Goodbye Roots!

Urgh, I hate when my roots start to come through. I know the whole Ombre look is in right now but it just makes me feel fugly.

I love the outcome after the hairdressers but don’t particularly enjoy the whole experience. I find having my hair washed almost painful and always turn down the offer of a hair massage. That’s just plain awkward. I’m pretty useless at small talk so I do appreciate the fact that the music is usually up quite high in the salon. I know, I’m a strange one.

Anyway, here’s my new hair. Bit blonder than I was expecting but it’s growing on me.

Later in the evening Alan and I went out for a meal. We had originally decided on an Italian Restaurant just up the road from our flat however I may have mentioned I fancied Thai food and it didn’t take long for Alan to be swayed.

We went to a place called Siam Smile, along the Suffolk Road in Cheltenham. I had only had take away from there before so we decided to give it a try instead of our usually favourite The Thai Brasserie (which I would highly recommend).

We started the evening off with some Thai White Wine, which was lovely and sweet. I love how these places offer Set Menus as it gives you the chance to try a bit of everything at a reasonable price. We opted for Set Menu A, with the starters consisting of Sesame Prawn Toast, Spring Rolls, Stuffed Chicken Wings and Crispy Noodles.

The Spring Rolls and Prawn Toast were scrumptious, however I wasn’t too keen on the Crispy Noodles as they were quite plain and the Stuffed Chicken Wings tasted like sausage. I’m not too sure if that was the idea. For mains we were treated to Prawn Green Curry, Stir Fry Minced Lamb, Stir Fry Chicken with Cashew Nuts and Steamed Rice. They were all delicious and between the both of us managed to wipe the plates clean. We love our food.

We then washed it all down with a hot beverage, Alan had a coffee and I had a Jasmine tea.

The meal was lovely and the food quality was top notch, however if I had to choose I think Thai Brasserie wins my vote. The starters on offer at Thai Brasserie are exceptional and you get a little more ;) Apologies for the poor quality photos, it’s such a small restaurant that I would have felt a little self conscious whacking out my SLR. Once we got home, we pigged out on some marshmallows (they were my dessert…) and began Season 5 of 24. Man that was one opening episode!

Hope everyone’s had a good weekend! :)

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Roots!

  1. I LOVE Siam Smile. Everything is cooked to perfection, especially the vegetables, they aren’t overcooked and i don’t feel like i’ve just eaten a stodgy, heavy or unhealthy meal. I would go as far to say it’s my favorite restaurant in Cheltenham! What was the jasmine tea like?

    1. We both really liked it too, although think if we had to choose we’d go Thai Brasserie, based on what the Set Menus offers anyway. The quality in both can’t be beaten. Just thinking about Thai food is making me hungry now! Jasmine Tea was lovely, not too strong.

Leave a Reply

