A New Obsession

I’ve noticed a quirk in my personality that makes me become obsessed with something once I take an interest in it. I’m talking mainly TV shows. I maybe hindering on OCD, but once the television show is gone, I turn my frown upside down and I move on.

This has become apparent in shows like Lost, Heroes, The Hills, The City, and even Scrubs. I take a keen interest in learning about the actors/stars in their real life and their characters in the show. The shows almost become part of my life as I watch them continuously.

My most recent obsession is the TV series 24. The complete series belongs to my boyfriend, we have been living together for 4 months now and the boxsets have been sitting there this whole time. I have only just discovered how good it actually is. We only started watching a couple of weeks ago and have already completed Season 1 and 2.

For those who don’t know what it is, it is a crime/thriller/action TV Series shot in real time with each 24 episodes per season covering 24 hours of Jack Bauer’s life. I can’t deny there is some compelling viewing throughout. I sit through every episode waiting for new pieces of information to be revealed to help understand how things are going to pan out. Much to my other half’s annoyance I feel the need to keep asking whether someone is bad or if this going to happen, his reply is always the same: ‘Don’t know.’ Not very helpful, but it keeps me guessing. The fact that I’ve fallen for 3 of the male characters (maybe more as the seasons go on) does help.

The love for Kiefer has grown stronger after seeing this image:

I’ve constantly got to resist the urge to google Kiefer Sutherland or 24 incase I find out something I shouldn’t and it completely ruins certain plots for me. Not going to lie, I was perving on one character and ended up finding out something I shouldn’t.

We’ve been watching at least 2 or 3 episodes a night and it’s beginning to feel like my life revolves around 24! Can’t complain though as I’m really getting into it and what with there being nothing to entertain me on Television, it’s perfect evening viewing. Season 3 has taken a while to get going, but one of my favourite characters has just been re-introduce so things are getting interesting and my first judgement about some of them has changed.

I won’t say anymore incase I give something away. Just go watch it.

Leave a Reply

