Olympic Torch Passes Through Cheltenham

Yesterday it was my friend Emma’s 23rd Birthday and boy did Cheltenham celebrate! Or that may have been because the Olympic Torch had finally made it’s way to the Town.

Either way, it was a perfect day for any occasion. The torch was arriving at around 5.45pm, ideal as I finish work at 5pm, so as soon as the time came I got on my summer gear and headed to Cheltenham’s Promenade along with my other half, Emma and Erin.

The torch was in fact, an hour and a half late but there was such a great atmosphere that no one really noticed. The celebrations continued at Cheltenham Racecourse, where Zara Phillips took the flame and lit the cauldron, the artist Labrinth also performed and as many as 25,000 people turned up.

Myself and Emma followed the crowds up to the Racecourse, however we unfortunately missed the main event. I was quite gutted I’d already eaten too as the smell coming from the Hog Roast stands was pulling me in. Oh well, maybe next year. Oh wait…

If anyone is interested I am wearing a dress from Topshop here, Hat from H&M and Ray-Bans.

6 thoughts on “Olympic Torch Passes Through Cheltenham

  1. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you,
    You managed to get a photo of me carrying the torch….
    My husband was stood in the wrong place so he didn’t get shoots of me on what was one of the best days of my life – thank you …….
    from Kathy

Leave a Reply

